Planets: Sun—ray 2 (non-sacred)

Ray 2 triangle

A Ray 2 (non-sacred planet)

Method: The established self as an integrated personality

Rulerships: Orthodox: Leo Esoteric: Leo Hierarchical: Leo
Dignities: Exaltation: Aries Fall: Pisces Libra Detriment: Aquarius
Paired planet (Ray 2): Jupiter
Symbol: A A circle with a central point.
Sun triangles:

Sun: general information

The Sun has multiple roles in esoteric astrology, as:

  1. the conduit for for the universal Ray 2 in general, which is the origin of the seven sub-rays embodied by the planets in our solar system
  2. one of the “big three” of any horoscope: Ascendant, Sun, Moon
  3. with the Moon, one of the two “veiling planets” in esoteric astrology

(more details on each point to follow)

see p111, 296-7 triple Sun and three crosses, Neptune and Uranus (Leo)

Sun: Rulerships

  • Orthodox: Leo
  • Esoteric: Leo
  • Hierarchical: Leo

Orthodox: Leo

Details to follow

Esoteric: Leo

The Sun veils one of 3 planets: in this case either Neptune or Uranus, but Vulcan is also possible, especially if Virgo or Taurus are also strong, of there’s a prominent Ray 1 emphasis.

Hierarchical: Leo

The Sun veils one of 3 planets: here it will likely be Uranus if the area of development is predominantly Cardinal or in a chart that favours odd-numbered Rays, or possibly Neptune in a chart that has a Fixed Cross emphasis, or predominantly even-numbered Rays.

Sun decanates

The decanates in Esoteric Astrology are not given consistently. They are sometimes reversed and other times given in the familiar direction. In conventional astrology they simply follow the rulerships of the signs in the elemental triad. They are consequently not always clear, and neither is the direction of travel. Alice Bailey draws on Theosophical Astrologers Sepharial (Walter Gorn Old) and Alan Leo, and for some decanates gives fresh esoteric replacements. Further, information on the decanates of some signs differs from that given elsewhere for the same sign, whereas in other cases they’re stated clearly. Some decanate rulerships also coincide with esoteric rulerships, or hint at planets veiled by the Sun or Moon, while others are explained as substitutes for planets with a related influence. For more information, see notes about the decanates

Sun Dignities

Exaltation in Aries

To follow

Fall in Pisces

To follow

Fall in Libra

To follow

Detriment in Aquarius

To follow