Signs: Fixed Cross—Scorpio

Ray 4 triangle

Warrior I am, and from the battle I emerge triumphant

Value through sharing the self: freedom from insecurity and emotional traps

Fixed complement:Taurus
Rays:Ray 4
Othodox ruler:Pluto
Esoteric ruler:Mars
Hierarchical ruler:Mercury
Esoteric decanates:1st: Mars, 2nd: Sun, 3rd: Venus
Retrogressive motto:Let Maya flourish and let deception rule
Scorpio triangles:

Scorpio: esoteric meaning

Details to follow.

Scorpio: rulers

Orthodox: Pluto

Details to follow for Pluto as orthodox ruler.

Esoteric: Mars

Details to follow of Mars as esoteric ruler.

Hierarchical: Mercury

Details to follow of Mercury as hierarchical ruler.


See the notes about the inconsistency of decanates in Esoteric Astrology. For comparison, Stephen Pugh’s decanate rulers are listed, alongside current orthodox rulers and those given in the book.

Esoteric/developmental: conscious development (annual signs from Aries via Taurus to Pisces)
0-9°: Mars E: Scorpio, the resourcefulness and determination to persist in the will to reorient the self
10-19°: Sun A: Pisces, courage to achieve self-mastery over the appetites (form), passions (quality) and vices (life) in preparation for initiation
20-29°: Venus D: Cancer, sensitivity of the evolution of plans for the greater good, and readiness to contribute
Exoteric/experiential: humanity in general (precession from Aries via Pisces to Taurus)
29-20°: Moon B: Cancer, the acquisition and building of relationships for personal resources and comfort
19-10°: Jupiter F: Pisces, the use of emotional skills and manipulation for personal advancement and gain
9-0°: Mars E: Scorpio, the selfish use of resources for physical and sexual fulfilment
  • Orthodox: Mars/Pluto, Jupiter/Neptune, Moon (Scorpio, Pisces, Cancer)
  • EAst e/o: Mars, Sun, Venus / Moon, Jupiter, Mars (reversed from: Mars, Jupiter, Moon)
  • Pugh e/o: Mars, Venus, Pluto / Pluto, Venus, Mars (swapped/reordered?)

Esoteric Astrology is slightly evasive on Scorpio’s decanates, stating that “a new planet is arising in this sign—presumably Pluto as exoteric co-ruler with Mars as the ruler of the first decanate—while the Pisces/Neptune decanate brings in the exaltation of Venus in that sign. The central decanate as ruled by the Sun symbolises “the stupendous victory achieved by Hercules, the Sun-God, in this sign” in slaying the nine-headed hydra (EA 203-4), the forces of each head standing for the nine human failings outlined in the Labours of Hercules (p. 144)

Each head of the hydra represents one of the problems that beset the courageous person who seeks to achieve [self-mastery]… Three of these heads symbolize the appetites associated with sex, comfort and money. The second triune group concerns the passions of fear, hatred and desire for power [the need to control]. The last three heads represent the vices of the unillumined mind: pride, separativeness and cruelty. […Hercules] had to learn the art of transmuting the energies that so frequently precipitate human beings into catastrophic tragedies. The nine forces which have wrought unspeakable havoc among the sons of men since the beginning of time had to be redirected and transmuted. (Labours of Hercules, p. 144. See the Moyra Federation on Scorpio for details)

If we note the remark that “each decanate… concerns the three aspects … life, quality and appearance” (EA 226) these rulerships can perhaps be interpreted accordingly, or perhaps matched to the qualities represented by the heads of the hydra: the appetites of the third aspect (appearance or form), the passions of the second aspect (quality), and the vices of the first (life). These form the groups:

sex fear pride
comfort hatred separativeness
money control cruelty

See the triangle Taurus-Scorpio-Pisces in which Scorpio itself is a decanate (with Taurus and Pisces) in a “still greater zodiac” (EA 204, 486).

The three decanates and their rulers are given very differently by various astrologers. One group posits Mars, the Sun and Venus as ruling the decanates of Scorpio whilst another regards Mars, Jupiter and the Moon as the three rulers. Perhaps the truth lies in both conclusions, if we view them from the esoteric standpoint or from that of the undeveloped man. […] Some day [astrologers] will arrive at a clear decision as to the position of the five planets suggested as ruling the decanates… I cannot indicate to you the essential truth because a new planet is arising in this sign and it is [to be discovered and rightly placed] within the circumference of the Great Wheel. (EA 226)

The tests of Scorpio are necessarily three in nature as they concern intimately the readiness of the threefold personality:

  1. To reorient itself to the life of the soul and later
  2. To evidence readiness for initiation.
  3. To demonstrate sensitivity to the Plan thus becoming the one-pointed disciple in Sagittarius.

The three major tests are again divided into three stages, and upon the Path of Discipleship [we may pass] into this sign for testing and experience nine times. … Each test (and therefore each decanate) concerns the three aspects which in this Treatise on the Seven Rays we have called: life, quality and appearance. Thus the three great tests in Scorpio are in reality nine tests and hence the nine-headed Hydra or Serpent which is ever associated with Scorpio and hence also the nature of the stupendous victory achieved by Hercules, the Sun-God, in this sign. (EA 203-4)

Esoteric Astrology: 203-4, 226